Best Movie Lines

A contact on Google+ posted some of her favorite movie lines. Of course, immediately, folks joined in with theirs (a few of which were attributed incorrectly). It made me start thinking of mine. And, since I’m bored, here are a few of my favorites.

A few of things to consider as writers:

  1. Great lines only work as a part of a great scene.
  2. Great lines are usually surrounded by other great dialogue.
  3. The line must be delivered in a manner that is believable for the character and pushes the story.
  4. The character isn’t trying to deliver a great line; he or she is talking. When they are trying to deliver a memorable line, it becomes cheesy or a meme (“I’ll be back.” “Feel lucky, punk?”) You better have an extraordinary character to pull that off. (Or Eastwood. One of those.)

Failya … to Communicate:

Cool Hand Luke:

Steenkin Bashes:

Treasure of the Sierra Madre:

Blazing Saddles:

Little pigs, little pigs …

The Shining:

(Anyone else rooting for him to shut her up?)

English, Muthafuka…

Pulp Fiction

(This one tears me out of the page.)

 Men at Work


And Finally, My Favorite – Improvised by the actor, and recited over and over

The Warriors

For you who can’t get enough – the AFI’s Top 50:

and

The 100 Greatest Movie Insult of All Time!

9 Replies to “Best Movie Lines”

  1. “Hope, is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.”

    Of course it’s from Shawshank Redemption, the best movie ever made.

    1. I agree. I took my parents to see that when I was a kid. All I told them was “it’s a western.” They were reluctant, but took me anyway. It was a hoot watching them as they discovered it was a comedy.

  2. Morning Bill. I wanted her to be shut up! Tho the Shining still scares me.. and I am not the scaredy type.. Excellent selection, I am going to get a few of these back out and have another look, some moves you can watch endlessly! and there are even a few i have not seen! i am not telling you which ones as you will assume there are terrible gaps in my education and i will be inexplicably pluto-ed. Fun.. celi

Comments are closed.