Beauty

“Nothing makes a woman more beautiful than the belief she is beautiful.” – Sophia Loren

As a child, if someone told you that you were pretty or sweet, or smart, in all likelihood you would not have spent a second questioning the truth of that. However as adults, somehow we allow our mirrors to get warped. We see what we are not instead of all that we are. And even when those who love us tell us of our beauty (inner or outer) we attribute it to love, and not truth.

Today, this day, stand in front of your mirror. Choose not to leave until you remember why you are beautiful. Thank God for having made you so. Even a cactus can bloom a flower. Surely you have a flower within you.

*Author’s Note: I have a number of blogs, and frankly, I’m sick of maintaining them all. I will be phasing out the Fix Your Mirror blog, and integrating the content from that blog (self-help and inspiration) here.

15 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. Well that is a beautiful child! I understand what you are saying. You say it well. But I am not good with mirrors. i shall do this exercise looking at my reflection in a water trough, then i will have a shimmer! I hear thunder outside (too exciting) I have to run out to the verandah and listen to it. Back soon.. c

    1. Everything you write makes me think I’m interacting with a character from a William Faulkner novel. 🙂 You really must write.

      You are good with mirrors, you just lie to yourself about what they say. I can see your shimmer from here.

  2. I have quite a few blogs, too–6 I think. Plus guest posts. I blend them all in one that’s my URL, but otherwise, I find it confuses readers to mix topics. The eclectic mix bores 20% of the people 20% of the time, or something like that.

    I’ll be interested to see how mixing your topics does.

    1. What I’m finding is that most of the people who read this blog all the time, also read the other one. The main other blog is just about self-actualization, and pretty much applies to everyone. I’ve really stopped posting to any of the others; I just don’t have the time.

      1. Well, look at the writing schedule you assigned yourself! I can’t mix–my blogs are on technology, writing, and USNA. Do you know anyone with that eclectic mix of interests (besides me)?

        1. I understand. I only do technology in my day job. I refuse to even discuss it after work. I also have a photography blog, but no one really looks at other people’s photos anymore. It’s like poetry – everyone thinks they can do it, and no one is a fan.

          I fear writing will soon follow suit. In the meantime, I keep blogging away. It’s my only forum for writing off the top of my head, unscripted.

    1. I could, but WordPress isn’t great about integrating things this way. I have a website, where it would be a separate tab, but I’m frankly just sick of managing it.

      Popular blogs are those wherein people read others’ blogs. I work 40+ hours a week, and I’m writing or working out a substantial portion of the time I’m not at work. In addition, my day job requires a Great Deal of research, so that by the time I’m home, I’m not interested in doing much more reading.

      Given all of that, it’s unlikely the other blogs will ever be “popular” enough to warrant putting time into them. I’d rather just pop the occasional inspirational post here. It makes more sense anyway, as those are the themes I interweave into my stories. Keeping them separate seemed like a good idea at the time, but I think it was a mistake.

      People don’t “get” why they should read my books. Maybe this will help.

      1. I have tried the same thing on wix.com with my photos. All of my road trips memories are amassed in one slide show. After plunking them all down just to start my journey into blogging and photo blogging I had second thoughts on how I wanted to do it. I was so frustrated that I looked for the “bang head here” spot on my desk. I haven’t been back to wix in a month. I am thinking my slideshows on my blog are good enough.

        I understand about the “not interested in doing much more reading.” Research jobs can suck the life from your thought processes. When I get home it is great therapy to plug into some good music and bang the keys!

        I have to confess…I am not much of a link clicker so until a few days ago I didn’t even notice links to your other sites. I tilted my head and wondered “has this been here this whole time”!!! So now i am exploring 🙂

  3. You’re so right! It’s depressing to reflect that most of us find it so much harder to accept a compliment than criticism. When someone compliments me, I have the same reaction you describe above (‘Yeah, right.’ or ‘Yes, but you’re my friend so you have to say that’). On the other hand, if someone criticizes me, it niggles at me for days and days and I really take it to heart. Why are we like that?

Comments are closed.