The Liebster Award!

The lovely and talented Victoria Grefer nominated me for the Liebster Award! At first, I thought I was getting some good Maine seafood, but it turned out I can’t spell. Still, it’s cool.

Here are the rules for the Liebster Award:

  • Posts 11 random facts about oneself and answer the 11 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  • Pass the award onto 11 other blogs
  • Write 11 NEW questions directed towards YOUR nominees
  • Paste the award picture into your blog. (Or another blog, if you’re a bored hacker.)

So, here I go! My answers are below.

1.    What is your most embarrassing story?

I’ve been asked that before, and I always struggle with it. I was a very shy kid; I moved around a lot; I was smaller than most. As a result, I got teased and even bullied a great deal. However, one thing I never got was embarrassed. I learned that was a weapon that people used against you, so I decided early on to simply own my mistakes and not feel self-conscious about them. I think I got that from my mom; I’ve never known her to be embarrassed either. What should have been my most embarrassing story was when I married someone much younger than me, and she left me. Instead, I decided to channel that pain into writing, and I penned two books in three months.  It’s all energy, in the end.

2.    What’s the grossest thing you’ve ever eaten?

I’ve always been a finicky eater, so I don’t try many gross things. However, as kids, we were regularly fed “brains and eggs.” No, not zombie-like brains – pig brains and scrambled chicken fetuses. Yum.

3.    If you’re an author, who is your favorite character you’ve written about? Why? (Yes, that’s considered one question – get over it.) If you’re not an author, who is your favorite character to read about? (Author & book for that character) and why?

My favorite character is Robin LeBeaux, from The Stream series. Robin is a smart, lovely, nurturing, and goofy girl. She never allows her sensitivity to become an excuse for weakness. I based her on the two most creative, craziest women I knew. If they had entered a lesbian marriage, and somehow made a baby together, their kid would have been Robin. That’s how I see her in my head.

4.    What is your favorite book series?

Gaea, by John Varley. As a kid, it was Sherlock Holmes.

5.    Do you prefer salty or sweet?

Sweet, definitely. I haven’t even bought salt in 10 years. I love potato chips, but they don’t love me. Cookies, however, love me loads.

6.    e-book or printed book?

Printed. E-books are cool, but I like “real books.” They get old, they stink, they turn to dust. They’re like zombies. I like to read paper books in the park. It intimidates the trees, and keeps them from moving too much when no one’s looking. They do that, you know.

7.    Biggest celebrity crush?

I’m too old for celebrity crushes. Therefore, with Helena Bonham Carter, it’s true love. Ordinary bores the shit out of me.

8.    What is your all time favorite movie?

I probably have 50 favorites and they change with my mood. Among the top would be Finding Forrester, however. My favorite not-great movie is Red, because it stars 3 of my 5 favorite actors (Morgan Freeman, Helen Mirren, and Bruce Willis). If you find one that also has Helena and Johnny Depp, let me know.

9.    Who is your favorite artist/band?

Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley

10. Are you a Black Friday shopper?

Oh God no. If I can’t get it on the internets, I don’t want it.

11. What is your favorite type of hero to write/read about?

I like writing about normal people who become heroic by finding their inner strength. I think it’s important to recognize that heroes aren’t really like comic book stars. They get scared, they fail at first, and sometimes their motivations are less than idealistic. But in the end, they triumph, because what they fight for is important enough to demand their best. What I HATE reading about is “heroes” that end up being victims most of the time. It’s hard caring about a character who gets the crap beat of him for 3/4’s of a book. By then, I’ve probably put it back on the shelf. In real life, winners win most of the time – not all the time, but most.

My lead character, Roxx, would beat Bella What’sherface to death with Katniss Everdeen’s bones. I like that in a female lead.

11 Random Facts … facts … facts … (imagine a deep, echoing voice)

  1. It took me 18 months after I graduated college to find a job. By then, I had learned who my real friends were.
  2. I listen to every music genre except Bluegrass, Zydeco, and Show Tunes. I. HATE. Show Tunes.
  3. I think Helen Mirren is hot. There, I said it.
  4. The first movie I ever saw in the theater was West Side Story. Yep, I’m that old. I fell asleep and got angry at my mother for not waking me up. Natalie Wood was my first movie Crush. She still was at her death.
  5. I once staged a coup d’ etat in the 4th grade. It was successful; the teacher quit mid-year.
  6. In college, I once took Business Law. I earned an “A,” despite the fact that I never bought the textbook and only went to class for exams. (I used to check the text out of the library before tests.) I’ve had a lifelong disdain for lawyers ever since.
  7. I’ve only had one male best friend. Since the 90’s, they’ve all been women. Some women used get so comfortable with me, they’d undress around me, forgetting I’m not gay. I am so not gay.
  8. In high school, I read Don Quixote in the original Spanish. Then I lived for 7 years in places where no one spoke Spanish. Now, I’m only fluent after drinking Tequila. Seriously.
  9. I’ve only been drunk 3 times. The third time, I was with native Spanish speakers, bar-hopping near San Francisco. Only after 3 hours did they tell me we had been speaking Spanish all night. I had no clue. Tequila!
  10. I once talked a kid out of suicide when I was 20. I hope he’s still alive. That same year, I talked a “Moonie” out of their cult in a day. He was trying to recruit me. Don’t try to recruit me; I’m not a joiner.
  11. Despite being a photographer, writer, and poet, I’m more the badass type than the “sensitive” type. Yeah, I can help you pick out clothes that flatter you, but you’d want me on your team during the Zombie Apocalypse. We’d kick some Zombie ass, then raid the empty mall. It would be sweet. Then we’d drive around all night trying to find a place that still served pizza.

So, here are my nominees. I won’t cry if you blow me off. I also didn’t pick 11. I’m lazy.

 Finally, here are your 11 Questions:

  1. What is most important to you in choosing a book to read?
  2. Name an absolutely terrible movie that you secretly love.
  3. What makes you want to slam a book shut and never finish it?
  4. You think you’re alone. The music is loud. You have a spoon, and you’re lip-synching that song you’re kind of embarrassed for liking. Who is singing, and what’s the song?
  5. The Zombies are coming. Why should we put you on our team?
  6. If Heaven existed, and it’s like a book you’ve read or movie you’ve seen, which one is it? Why?
  7. Which character (you’ve written or read) would you most want to be friends with (with or without benefits)?
  8. The world as we know it will end: a) In a zombie apocalypse, b) Never, because Light will always defeat Darkness, c) When we jump on that last rocket and finally ditch this backwater planet, or d) With you, ‘cause you’re taking all the other suckers out when you go. Which one?
  9. Do you consider yourself to be an artist?
  10. What’s the dumbest thing to be afraid of that scares the crap out of you?
  11. Your blog is now famous. As a result, celebrities want your attention. Writers call, actors call, singers text, but you only have time for 1 or 2. Whom do you hang out with, and whom do you have a secret fling with?

If anyone I didn’t think to nominate wants to do it, join in. We’ll start a cult. We’ll call ourselves the Liebster Children of the Sacred Eleven. And we’ll eat loads of cheese at the meetings.

13 Replies to “The Liebster Award!”

      1. I will have you know, Mr. Jones… I started my response and looked at the clock. I almost fainted when it said 6:58. I wasn’t ready for work, had no lunch made and have a 30-45 minute drive on normal Fridays. This has to be the first black Friday I have ever been thankful for. made it to work in 17 minutes!!! with work clothes on, hair curled and makeup on.
        Sometimes its so much more fun to do these things… however, projects abound for year end money in the door. Bleh!!

        Thank you for the fun that will resume at approximately 4:30 pm!!

  1. Darling.. mercy!!! Loved reading your answers and I like your questions too.. Thank you so much for nominating me, I will do my absolute best! But you know who I am! There is a lot of work in this award – a great post!! Thank you honey and have a lovely day! c

Comments are closed.