Photo Walk – 8 Dec. 2012

I have always kept a separate blog for photography. I haven’t been posting to it, mainly because a few scurrilous folks were stealing my stuff. Not that it’s a big deal, but I am niggardly with my work, unless you ask. In any event, I’ve decided to stop separating the photography from the writing. The main reason is that it’s too much work.

However, the other reason is that it’s an artificial separation. My photography often ends up in my writing. Similarly, more than a few poems were inspired by things I’ve seen and photographed. It’s not by chance that I often have photos that fit the mood of the post I’m writing. The same brain that finds the photos does the writing.

I rarely plan my photos. Other than a few friends who wanted me to photograph their kids, I don’t take portraits, and rarely take family photos. My love is, and always has been, street photography. I’m a city kid, and my art is too. My favorite local place to shoot is the 1600 block of Pennsylvania Ave., in Washington, D.C. There is always something going on there, and even when there isn’t, photography or life is. Maybe one day I’ll write a series of short pieces that take place there.

In the interim, here are this week’s top shots, featuring a rambunctious protest of Egyptian President Morsi (Mursi).

I am not Morsi. One cannot be too careful in a protest.
This gentleman was informing us of all the idolatrous things in our sinner lives: surgery, medicines derived from animals, artificial lights, and apparently, women showing their slutty faces and hands. There is always just enough truth mixed in with lies to make them seem true
Same guy. Note the position of the “Secret” Service. You know they are secret because it says so on their car.
The real protest. Morsi has backed off – perhaps peaceful pressure is the best weapon of democracy after all. My applause to these people.

The one person who was not there was Connie Picciotto, who has staged a continuous protest across from the White House (in Lafayette Park) since 1981. I’ve heard she was injured recently. Also, there was construction on 16th Street for some White House event. In any case, the place felt empty without her mostly silent vigil. Here’s my shot of Connie from a few years back.

Concepcion “Connie” Picciotto – all protests are stupid and pointless, until, of course, they work. Then they are perfect.
3 Replies to “Photo Walk – 8 Dec. 2012”

Comments are closed.