Seven-Writer Challenge

I got tagged by my friend and fellow writer, Mary Ann Bernal, in the seven-writer challenge. It is as follows:

“This is your mission: Go to line 7 on either page 7 or page 77 of your manuscript and do a post with the next 7 lines, then tag 7 people to keep the challenge going* This a short and savvy way to see what others out there in the blogosphere are writing.”

In the spirit of cooperation, here is my offering below. I cheated and did two, since my latest manuscript, Hard as Roxx, is still in editing, and I actually finished it and the manuscript for The Juice and Other Stories simultaneously.

From The Juice, “Fool O’clock,” pg. 77:

I whistle. Mid-Atlantic and Western sectors combined cover sixty percent of our agents. This is major-league shit. I now have a boner, which I’m trying desperately to hide from the boss.

“Right,” she says, reading – I hope – my expression. “Operation Gettysburg starts tomorrow. Go home, have sex with your wife, then the two of you get started in the morning.”

She’s already turned back to her computer, like the meeting’s over.

From Hard as Roxx, pg. 7:

My wee vampire baby.

Jessi sat smiling at her mom from the sidecar, seated across from the teddy that was as big as she was. Roxx lifted Jessi into her arms and folded the seat forward, revealing a storage compartment that held needed supplies, food, as well as sonic cleansing gear. Both of her girls were ravenous eaters, and it was time for breakfast.

And all we have left are some protein packs, and …

Roxx fumbled around in the leather saddlebag that draped across her rear fender.

 

I haven’t tagged anyone, because, frankly, I don’t know 7 writers who still read my blog. I shut it down for quite some time, and don’t want people to read it solely because I’m reading theirs. As a result, I don’t let anyone know when I read their blog, and no one reads mine. I’m cool widdat.

