Help Me Choose Cover Art!

While I was putting together my last post (as I indicated) I came up with an idea of how to do the cover art for the paperback version of my short story collection. I liked the idea enough that it prompted me to replace my current cover for the ebook version with new art. However, being impulsive, I thought I would try to get feedback this time.

This collection is the 1st real cover art I’ve attempted. My goal is to make it look somewhere between pulp fiction (to which these stories are homage) and professional. Both versions are probably meh, but I’m trying to do this without spending a penny on cover art.

The Juice version 3 Ebook Cover
1. Primary Version (which violates every design rule I never studied).
The Juice version 3 r2_Front Cover Alt
2. Alternate version (which is cluttered, but reveals more about the stories – urban horror, sci-fi, fantasy, humor, and suspense)

For comparison, here is my mock-up of the final book cover. The back will be overlaid with info such as the book blurb and ISBN information. It’ll look all book-like once refined and finished. Feedback is welcome.

Rough. I haven’t decided how dim to make the city scene, but I can darken it as much as I like.
22 Replies to “Help Me Choose Cover Art!”

  1. I think I like the second one better. With a bit of the city in view (a bus stop I think) it seems a little grittier. It seems like the blue-eyed girl is a denizen of the city. Just a thought.

    By the way, I am the same as “Eagle Tech.” I just changed the display name to one I’ve used before and therefore feel it is more like, “me.”

    1. Thanks for the feedback; I really appreciate it. I can never tell when I do the work. I can ever think of is, “They don’t look like I meant them to look.” Ha! BTW, I like the moniker “EagleAye.” It’s interesting, especially with the pose in your photo.

      1. I know how much I appreciate feedback so I’m always very willing to pass it along.

        I have been posting for a couple years at a political debate site. I’ve done this daily for so long it feels like my name. I decided, “why change?”

        By the way, my next kindle book purchase will be one of yours. What do you recommend stating with?

  2. Bill, I like the second one as well. When looking at books the front cover is what draws a person in, the beautiful blue eye in the black and gray would turn my head then the rest of the scene would make me curious to see what the book is about.

    In my humble opinion having the street scene on the back (#3) disconnects from the front cover, and having the backdrop integrated with her face (#1) detracts from her.

  3. Thanks all, I really appreciate it. It seems to be unanimous. I like the second one too. I spent exactly no time planning these. I just do one and see if I like it.

  4. Me too Bill, Sorry for the late response, but the second one deffos, it just has the edge one the 1st one, bringing intrigue into what will encourage people to read your book. Good luck with all your books.
    Chrissy x

  5. Not sure if this will reach you in time, but for whatever it’s worth, I like the imagery of the second one better; I think it’s just the typography that needs a bit of tweaking (this is my personal favorite area of my graphic design work). I like the overall feel of your designs, though!

Comments are closed.