if i wear a mask


if i don a mask / with a painted-on smile / will i be whom you require? / would the beast inside / be tamed / to your satisfaction / or if i allowed the monster that whispers / “i hate yous” / in my mind’s mirrors / to surface / would you be intrigued? / would my self-destruction be art enough / i could do a van gogh for you / cut off someone’s ear / or even mine

you can play friend to my / frankenstein / dr. vincent van frankenstein / since / you never see me / for whom i am / and i am no longer listening / to your / lies

The single best thing about my poetry is that i honestly don’t give a fuck if people like it.

11 Replies to “if i wear a mask”

  1. you have a way with words…write because you love to regardless of who likes it…but…people wouldn’t visit if they weren’t interested in what you wrote…

    1. Thank you. I’m actually comfortable with and enjoying the feedback I get on my blogs. It’s heartening and needed. It’s the feedback and lack of support outside of this safe area that I was reacting to.

      People say and do things with artists that they would NEVER consider doing to others or want done to them. I guess they think there’s some invisible shield we carry where they can blithely dump on 500 or 600 hours of someone’s life with a backhand remark.

  2. The most unkind critiques come from those who are blocked creatives and lash out in frustration. The creative journey is a joy and no comment no matter how harsh can take that joy away unless we let it.
    Bill keep up the wonderful and inspiring work and thanks so much for sharing.

Comments are closed.