passing comets

some days i wonder how your mind works.
do you believe me to be desperate for attention?
perhaps i am a lonely old man, searching among the bits
for bytes of your youthful apple.

but no, sweet one, no.
i have no more interest in you
than a star has in a passing comet.
you breeze through, i burn off your icy crust
and you continue on your way

in a short while, i shall forget you passed by.

some nights, i wonder if you know i am faithful to another.
she possesses me and i do not stray, do not wonder
never wander
and so, i shall watch you depart, my gentle boot
to your comet’s tail.

it was never about you, my sweet
it was only about my promise to God, about you.
now, my work is done.

and so, my dear, are you.

Being a man is difficult. Too often, I am friendly to a woman, or reach out to help, and she decides I am interested in her sexually. The female ego used to amuse me. Now, at 55, I find it tiresome. If we have met online, let me be CLEAR. I have NO interest in you romantically. NONE. NEVER. NO. I live in the real world, and never confuse the interwebs with it. Begone, foul demon!

I hope that clears things up.

16 Replies to “passing comets”

  1. This made me smile. First of all the poem was beautiful. And second of all, the last paragraph should clear it all up for any woman. Sometimes we, women, need it spelled out for us 🙂

  2. I just had the same situation myself isn’t that odd .I had to do the same .I had to set her strait about the fact that I was not interested in here sexually. Now we are friends just friends we talk and nothing more.

  3. Wow, a beautiful poem which sums it up exactly! Sounds like a horrible situation you were in Bill. I hope it has all worked out ok. Isn’t it strange how forward people can be online, and also how easily things can be misconstrued.

    1. Thanks. I wasn’t too bad. This time, I was more insulted than anything else. People often want to see the best of you online; I’ve become accustomed to that. But when they act like you’re pursuing them just for being nice, that’s where my neck hairs rise.

  4. Morning darling.. more stalkers? You engage with people – this is a double edged sword. I think half the time they wish they WERE being pursued. Love the comet and star image though.. very cool, c

      1. Soon to be on a plane.. sigh.. it will take me 24 hours to get from this remote place to my remote place.. but like you I am a reader so all this downtime is a gift really!!

  5. Nicely put, I wish more people would realize this is the internet and even if we do have blogs ( poetry, writing, photography ext ) for many this is an extension of our imaginations and yes we have real lives. 🙂
    Greeting from the colder Africa

  6. I hope she’s gotten the message now. I’ve made some interweb friends through my blog and other internet hangouts. I even found my love there (an old high school friend, believe it or not), so those things do happen. But as you said, “if you have to wonder . . . ”

    Love the poem.

    1. Thanks, Carissa. I know it happens. I met my ex-wife (and best friend) via our blogs years ago. However, I find it insulting when people respond to friendliness as if it were a proposition.

      I thought this would clarify things. 🙂 It’s one of my 40-second poems.

  7. I think it’s a pity too. Friendliness is just that. Can’t we be warm and nice without an ulterior motive? But people have their reasons, don’t they. Sometimes its that they want to be pursued, sometimes that each identified ‘pursuer’ is a feather in their sexual cap (‘it’s so hard when you’re attractive’).

Comments are closed.