Do. Be. Write.

Raw, Naked Art

charlie-brown In terms of actively writing, I recently figured out that over the last 4.5 years, since I wrote that 1st short story that turned into the Stream, I’ve averaged only 476 words per day. That’s about equal to a blog post, or about 1 1/3 paperback pages per day. However, over the 4.5 years, it adds up to 775,369 words. Of those, I’ve published 481,264 words and the rest are works-in-progress. None of them has won a Pulitzer, but who knows, the next one might.

My point is, just by writing consistently, and way less than Stephen King’s 3,000 words per day, I’ve finished 5 novels and a short story collection, and I’m 1/3 of the way through a 6th novel and another short story collection.

We are writers not because we create great works, or even because we write. We are writers because the stories will never quiet until…

View original post 19 more words

One Reply to “Do. Be. Write.”

Comments are closed.