Grammar Minute: With I or With Me?

For some reason, this post has quite a few hits this week. I thought it would be a good time to revisit one of the common grammar mistakes that always drove my mom bonkers … Soap Opera Speak.

She's here only because grammar is boring...
She’s here only because grammar is boring…

This Blog Intentionally Blank

All too often you have you probably heard someone say, for example, “He agreed to go to the game with you and I.” I call this Soap Opera speak because daytime dramas seem to be where this incorrect usage became popular. (Yep, it’s writers’ fault.)

“With” in the example above is a preposition. Prepositions call for objective forms of pronouns. What is the objective form? Simple. A “subject” of a sentence does something. An “object” has something done to it.

Subject Pronouns: I, we, he, she, they, who

Object Pronouns: me, us, him, her, them, whom

Let’s look at another example. “Joe gave the pizza to Bob and I.” Uh, no he did not. Joe is the subject (giving the pizza) to “Bob and me” whom are the objects of Joe’s generous giving.

There are a couple of quick rules to remember. If the pronoun follows a preposition (to, with…

View original post 226 more words

9 Replies to “Grammar Minute: With I or With Me?”

  1. Thank you for clearing this up! This one has always confused me. I am ashamed to say this, but I am classic example of ‘soap opera’ speak. Time to get myself to English class…QUICK!

  2. with me, of course… 🙂 btw, I’m a language teacher: ceci explique cela… what we call in French:”professional deformation”… 🙂

  3. I stink at all the grammar rules. I only know if it sounds right or wrong. (The hazard of having English majors (and teachers) as parents!) I was watching a TV show the other night where a teenager was an English tutor. When she answered the phone, she preceded to say, “This is her.” I cringed! lol

    1. My mom would be proud. My grandmother’s mom was a teacher and so she and my mother would correct me constantly. You either become good at grammar or completely rebel against it.

      1. I tried to rebel!! 🙂 However, my parents were having none of that! lol I was corrected instantly as well. Unfortunately, television shows often butcher grammar!

Comments are closed.